City Reports

Lok Sabha elections 2019: Jyoti Khandelwal Congress candidate for Jaipur constituency

Jyoti Khandelwal is the first woman to be fielded from Jaipur by the Congress in 48 years.

April 30, 2019, 4:39 pm

Jyoti Khandelwal jaipur congress Lok sabha

Celebartions at Jyoti Khandelwal's residence in Jaipur after the announcement of Congress's first list.

Jaipur: The Congress released its first list of candidates for upcoming Lok Sabha elections 2019 on Thursday and finalized the names for 19 candidates from Rajasthan. There are 25 Lok Sabha constituencies in the state. The remaining six names will be announced soon, said party officials.

Former mayor Jyoti Khandelwal will be the Congress candidate for Jaipur Lok Sabha constituency, while Chief Minister Ashok Gehlot’s son Vaibhav Gehlot has been fielded from Jodhpur.

Former cabinet minister Banwar Jitendra Singh has been fielded from Alwar seat. Subhash Maharia who recently joined Congress after leaving BJP has been given Sikar seat’s ticket and Manvendra Singh Barmer’s.

The first list has three-woman candidates including former mayor Jyoti Khandelwal from Jaipur, wife of Muralilal Meena – Savita – from Dausa seat and former councilor Jyoti Mirdha from Nagaur seat.

According to the party officials, Jyoti Khandelwal is the first woman to be fielded from Jaipur by the Congress in 48 years.

Mahesh Joshi was also a strong contender for Jaipur seat. He was the Congress candidate in Lok Sabha election of 2014., added officials.

Khandelwal reached Jaipur from Delhi on Thursday night. The relatives and supporters gathered at her house to congratulate her for making it to the list.

Khandelwal will fight against the BJP Ramcharan Bohra.

The BJP released its first list of 16 candidates in Rajasthan on March 22. The BJP and Congress are yet to release the remaining nine and six names respectively in Rajasthan.

Congress candidates from Rajasthan in the first list:

  1. Bikaner: Madangopal Meghwal
  2. Churu: Rafique Mandela
  3. Jhunjhunu: Shrawan Kumar
  4. Sikar: Subhash Maharia
  5. Jaipur: Jyoti Khandelwal
  6. Alwar: Jitendra Singh
  7. Bharatpur: Abhijit Kumar Jatav
  8. Karauli-Dholpur: Sanjay Kumar Jatav
  9. Dausa: Savita Meena
  10. Tonk-Sawaimadhopur: Namo Narain Meena
  11. Nagaur: Jyoti Mirdha
  12. Pali: Badri Ram Jakhar
  13. Jodhpur: Vaibhav Gehlot
  14. Barmer: Manvendra Singh
  15. Jalore: Ratan Dewasi
  16. Udaipur: Raghuveer Singh Meena
  17. Banswara: Tarachand Bagora
  18. Chittorgarh: Gopal Singh Idwa
  19. Kota: Ramanarayan Meena

The dates for upcoming Lok Sabha Elections were announced by Election Commission of India. Polling in Rajasthan on 25 seats will be held on April 29 (Phase 4) and May 6 (Phase 5). The results will be announced on May 23.

Thirteen constituencies including Tonk-Sawai Madhopur, Ajmer, Pali, Jodhpur, Barmer, Jalore, Udaipur, Banswara, Chittorgarh, Rajsamand, Bhilwara, Kota, and Jhalawar-Baran will go on polls on April 26 in the state.

And the elections of 12 Lok Sabha constituencies including Ganganagar, Bikaner, Jhunjhunu, Sikar, Jaipur Rural, Jaipur, Alwar, Bharatpur, Karauli-Dholpur, Dausa, and Nagaur will take place on May 6.

First published: March 29, 2019