BJP to release names of remaining 9 candidates soon; meeting held in Delhi

A meeting of the BJP core committee was held in New Delhi on Monday. The meeting was presided over by national president Amit Shah.

pinkcitypost author img

March 26, 2019, 12:18 pm

BJP first list conference meeting

BJP leaders meeting at party headquarters in Delhi.

Jaipur: The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) will soon release its second list of candidates for the remaining Lok Sabha constituencies in Rajasthan for the upcoming general elections 2019. The party released its first list consisting of 16 names on March 21.

A meeting of the BJP core committee was held in New Delhi on Monday. The meeting was presided over by national president Amit Shah.

Read also: Rahul Gandhi in Rajasthan today for Lok Sabha election campaigning

The core committee handed a list of nine names to Shah. Shah then discussed the nominated names with the party officials.

According to the sources, the party has finalized the names of nine candidates for the Lok Sabha seats.

The party may repeat the sitting parliamentarians from Churu, Nagaur, Dholpur- Karauli seats in view of the caste equations in the state. The core committee gave preference to the candidates from Jatav or Bairwa community for Dholpur-Karauli seat, said party’s sources.

The party may field a new candidate from Barmer and Bharatpur seat. Also, present MP CR Chaudhary from Nagaur could be repeated this time also, added sources.

As per Shah’s survey report names such as IPS Mahendra Chaudhary, NR Chaudhary, and Kailash Chaudhary has come forth for Barmer Seat. The officials considered giving fielding Diya Kumari from Rajasamand seat.

There was a mutual consent for fielding Balaknath from Alwar, Om Prakash Hudla or his wife from Dausa, said sources.

Leaders including Madanlal Saini, Prakash Javedkar, Vasundhara Raje, Chandrashekar along with others were present in the meeting.

The central election committee has authorized Amit Shah to take the final call and announce the names of the remaining nine candidates.

The BJP released its first list of candidates for upcoming Lok Sabha elections 2019 on Thursday and finalized the names for 16 candidates from Rajasthan. There are 25 Lok Sabha constituencies in the state. The party repeated 14 sitting MPs and included four union ministers in the first list.

Read also: Rajasthan: Congress likely to release list of 15 candidates after Mar 26 for Lok Sabha elections 2019

The BJP has played safe and repeated most of the sitting parliamentarians and union ministers from their incumbent seats as in 2014.

The party has fielded two new candidates for Jhunjhunu and Ajmer seats including Narendra Khinchal who is an MLA from Mandawa assembly constituency in Jhunjhunu region and Bhagirath Chaudhary who is a former MLA from Kishangarh.

The dates for upcoming Lok Sabha Elections were announced by Election Commission of India. Polling in Rajasthan on 25 seats will be held on April 29 (Phase 4) and May 6 (Phase 5). The results will be announced on May 23.

First published: March 26, 2019