City Reports

11 RU student union leaders win Rajasthan assembly elections 2018

Both Congress and BJP fielded new and former Rajasthan University student union leaders.

pinkcitypost author img

December 12, 2018, 10:38 am

Rajasthan University RU jaipur

Image Credit: Post Staff

Jaipur: Eleven former and present student union leaders from Rajasthan University (RU) have won the Rajasthan assembly elections 2018. Of these leaders, nine were former RU student union presidents.

The Congress fielded four new RU student union leaders including Ramnivas Gawadia (27), Mukesh Bhakar, Manish Yadav and Pushpendra Bhardwaj. Of them, Ramniwas Gawadia has won the elections in Parbatsar and Mukesh Bhakar won in Ladnun of Nagaur whereas Manish and Pushpendra lost in Shahpura and Sanganer assembly constituencies in Jaipur district respectively.

Ramnivas Gawadia won RU student union elections from Law College in 2015 and Mukesh Bhakar lost in 2010, but later became NSUI state president.

Manish Yadav who was RU student union president in 2010 lost the assembly election twice earlier. Pushpendra Bhardwaj was RU student union president in 2010.

From the BJP, three former student union presidents won the 2018 assembly elections including Ashok Lahoty from Sanganer, Kalicharan Saraf from Malviya Nagar and Rajendra Rathore from Churu whereas Rajpal Singh Shekhawat lost the election in Jhotwara constituency.

From the Congress, five former student union presidents won the 2018 assembly elections including Mahesh Joshi from Hawa Mahal, Pratap Singh Khachariyawas from Civil Lines, Rajkumar Sharma from Navalgarh, Mahendra Choudhary from Nawa, Raghu Sharma from Kekdi assembly constituency whereas Pushpendra Bhardwaj from Sanganer and Manish Yadav from Shahpura lost.

Khiwsar MLA from Rashtriya Loktantrik party Hanuman Beniwal was also RU student union president and has won the Khiwsar seat once again.

First published: December 12, 2018
Click on the following link(s) to find the latest & related stories on: