City Reports

Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore not getting cabinet birth a big surprise to many

pinkcitypost author img

May 31, 2019, 9:15 pm

Narendra Modi

Prime Minister Narendra Modi

Jaipur: The new Narendra Modi cabinet has three faces from Rajasthan. Of them, only Gajendra Singh Shekhawat has been made a cabinet minister. The other two – Kailash Choudhary – MP from Barmer and Ajurn Meghawal – MP from Bikaner, have been included in the cabinet as state ministers.

The biggest surprise was that Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore was not given a cabinet birth. He was considered very close to Narendra Modi and Amit Shah. Speculations that he would likely be appointed as the president of the BJP’s Rajasthan unit are doing the round.

In the previous Modi government, only one MP from Rajasthan became the cabinet minister. However seven more MPs were given cabinet birth in subsequent expansions. There were five ministers from Rajasthan when the Lok Sabha elections took place. It is believed more MPs will be included in the cabinet later.

Gajendra Singh Shekhawat had defeated Vaibhav Gehlot, son of Rajasthan chief minister Ashok Gehlot by a margin of more than 2.7 lakh votes. It is believed that Shekhawat was rewarded for defeating Vaibhav as CM Gehlot’s prestige was at stake.

Rajyavardhan Singh had strong possibilities of becoming a cabinet minister, but he was not included because the party high command is considering him for a bigger responsibility in the organization.

Chief minister Ashok Gehlot didn’t participate in the oath ceremony of prime minister Narendra Modi.

In a tweet, he accused the BJP of attempting to unstable the Congress governments in Madhya Pradesh, Karnataka and West Bengal.

First published: May 31, 2019