City Reports

Rajasthan cabinet expansion: All you need to know

Of the newly sworn-in MLAs, 17 have become ministers for their first time serving in such roles.

nitesh kumar profile pic

January 6, 2024, 7:08 pm

rajasthan cabinet expansion rajyavardhan singh rathore

Kalraj Mishra administrating oath to ministers.

JAIPUR: Rajasthan’s Bhajanlal government cabinet has undergone expansion as Governor Kalraj Mishra administered the oath to 22 ministers.

Among them, 12 are Cabinet ministers and 5 hold the position of Ministers of State (Independent Charge), with an additional 5 serving as Ministers of State.

The BJP has appointed Surendra Pal Singh TT as a minister from Srikaranupar seat. The cancellation of elections for Srikaranpur seat was due to the demise of Congress candidate Gurmeet Singh Kunnar. Voting for this seat is now scheduled for January 5. According to regulations, any adult Indian citizen can serve as a minister for up to six months without being an MLA.

Kirodilal Meena, who previously held the post of MP, fought the assembly election and was elected an MLA. As part of this expansion, Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore has been appointed as a cabinet minister. With Chief Minister Bhajanlal Sharma and two Deputy CMs already in office, the total number of ministers in the government now stands at 25. Under quota guidelines, Rajasthan can have up to 30 ministers; therefore there are currently five vacant positions remaining.

Of the newly sworn-in MLAs, 17 have become ministers for their first time serving in such roles. Out of all those sworn in under Bhajanlal’s government so far, only two women MLAs have obtained positions—including Deputy CM Diya Kumari.

S.NoNameDetailsReason for Appointment
1Kirodi Lal MeenaMost vocal in the opposition, prominent ST community face.Vocal during Congress rule in Rajasthan. Known for protests, parliamentary performance, and bold speaking. Associated with the Sangh, jailed during the Emergency. Represents political equations in Eastern Rajasthan. Made the senior-most minister.
2Gajendra Singh KhinwsarFrom Vasundhara Raje’s camp, appointed as Cabinet Minister for unity.Minister in both of Raje’s governments. Close to Raje, balances Marwar’s political equations. Known as a gentle Rajput face with administrative experience.
3Rajyavardhan Singh RathoreFourth leader from Jaipur in the Cabinet.Ex-Central minister, two-time MP, and first-time MLA. Represents emerging Rajput community face. Close to the party high command.
4Babulal KharadiLives in a mud house, a new message with his ministerial appointment.MLA from Jhadol, represents tribal areas. Known for grassroots connection and recognized as the best MLA.
5Madan DilawarVocal Dalit Hindutva face, favored by RSS.Vocal Hindutva face in BJP, outspoken and aggressive. Served in Shekhawat’s and Raje’s governments. Prominent in opposition.
6Jogaram PatelEffort to appease Patel vote bank.Seen as an educated face in the Patel community in Marwar. Represents OBCs and party’s vote bank in Marwar. Former Parliamentary Secretary in Raje’s government.
7Suresh Singh RawatMessage to core vote bank.From Ajmer, represents Rawat community, BJP’s traditional voters. First-time minister, served as Parliamentary Secretary in Raje’s government.
8Avinash GehlotTargeting core voters in BJP stronghold.Key face from Saini community in Pali district, a BJP stronghold. Represents regional and community equations.
9Joraram KumawatMessage to Kumawat community.Traditionally BJP voters, represents Kumawat community from Shekhawati. Second-term MLA from Sumerpur, connected with Sangh.
10Hemant MeenaTargeting tribal belt, son of a former minister.From Pratapgarh, represents regional and community equations in the tribal belt. Son of former minister Nandlal Meena.
11Kanhaiyalal ChaudharyLocal and community equations in Sachin Pilot’s district.From sensitive Malpura area, represents Jat community in Tonk district influenced by Sachin Pilot.
12Sumit GodaraEffort to appease Jats in Bikaner.Second-term MLA, representing regional and community equations. A new face post-farmers’ agitation.
13Sanjay SharmaTargeting core vote bank in Alwar district.Two-term MLA from Alwar City, has RSS support. Represents regional equations.
14Surendra Pal TTAppointed minister during ongoing elections, a new precedent.Candidate from Shri Karanpur, becomes a minister during elections. Legal but raises ethical questions.
15Gautam Kumar DakThe only face from the Vaishya community.From Mewar region, favored by RSS. The only Vaishya face in the cabinet.
16Jhabar Singh KharrarAppeasing Jat voters in Shekhawati.Represents Shekhawati’s Jat community. Son of Harlal Singh Kharrar, a minister in Shekhawat’s government.
17Hiralal NagarMessage to farmer communities in Hadoti.From Kota district, represents Nagar and Dhakad communities, traditional BJP voters.
18Otaram DewasiAddressing caste, religious, and regional equations.Influential religious leader in Sirohi region, impacting Dewasi and other communities.
19Dr. Manju BaghmarTargeting Dalit voters in Nagaur.Second-term MLA from Nagaur’s Jayal, known as a prominent Dalit face in the region.
20Vijay Singh ChaudharyDefeated a close associate of Ashok Gehlot, close to Vasundhara Raje.From Navan seat, defeated Congress’ Mahendra Chaudhary. Son of independent MLA Rameshwar Lal Chaudhary.
21KK VishnoiAppeasing Vishnoi community in Marwar.First-time MLA, son of Laduram Vishnoi, an advisor to Vasundhara Raje.
22Jawahar Singh BedmMessage to Gujjar voters, connected with Gujjar agitation.From Eastern Rajasthan. The shift in Gujjar voters’ preference due to Sachin Pilot factor. Actively involved in Gujjar agitation with Colonel Bainsla.

First published: December 30, 2023