City Reports

Jaswant Singh Rathi appointed RPSC chairman

pinkcitypost author img

February 1, 2022, 5:52 pm


Jaipur: The state government on Tuesday appointed Jaswant Singh Rathi as the acting chairman of Rajasthan Public Service Commission (RPSC). Rathi who was an RSPC member replaces Shiv Singh Rathore who completed his term on Saturday. The post has been lying vacant for the past three days, triggering widespread speculations about the potential candidates. Sources said that chief minister Ashok Gehlot finalized Rathi’s name.

Earlier, there were speculations that IAS officer Niranjan Arya would be appointed as the RPSC chairman after his retirement. But he was appointed as an advisor to the chief minister.

Prior to Shiv Singh Rathore, the past was being held by retired IPS officer Bhupendra Singh Yadav who completed his term nearly two months ago. Rathore had been RPSC chairman for two months.

Jaswant Singh superseded Rajkumari Gurjar who is the senior-most member in RPSC currently. , while Ramuram Raika is at number two. Both of them were appointed during the BJP rule. The present Congress government appointed Sangeeta Arya, Jaswant Singh Rathi, Manju Sharma and Babulal Katara as members.

Jaswant Singh Rathi has been an RPSC member since October 14, 2020. Rathi was a freelance journalist before becoming an RPSC member. He is a resident of Vaishali Nagar in Jaipur. Born on March 10, 1964, Rathi’s education took place in Jaipur. He holds a Master of Journalism and Mass Communication degree.

First published: February 1, 2022