City Reports

BJP’s Soumya Gujjar elected Mayor of Jaipur Greater; Munesh of Congress wins in Jaipur Heritage

pinkcitypost author img

November 10, 2020, 4:15 pm

somya gurjar first mayor

Soumya Gurjar after being elected mayor of Jaipur Greater Municipal Corporation.

Jaipur: The first mayors of newly formed Jaipur Greater Municipal Corporation and Jaipur Heritage Municipal Corporation are women.

While BJP’s Somya Gujjar has been elected the mayor of Jaipur Greater, Munesh Gujjar of the Congress is the first mayor of Jaipur Heritage Municipal Corporation. Soumya Gujjar defeated Congress candidate Divya Gujjar by a margin of 44 votes, while Munesh received 56 out of 100 votes in Jaipur Heritage.  Munesh defeated BJP candidate for the post Kusum Yadav who received 44 votes.

In Kota, mayors for both the municipal corporations are Congress candidates. Rajeev Agarwal was elected the mayor of South Municipal Corporation, while Manju Mehra of Congress was elected the mayor of North Municipal Corporation. Rajeev defeated the BJP’s candidate Vivek Rajvavanshi by a margin of 2 votes. While Rajeev got 41 votes, Vivek got 39 votes. Manju received 50 votes, while BJP’s Santosh Bairwa received only 19 votes. There were reports of cross voting in both municipal corporations in Kota.

In Jodhpur, Vanita Seth of the BJP won in Jodhpur South Municipal Corporation, while Kunti Parihar of the Congress won in North Municipal Corporation. Kunti defeated Sangeeta Solanki of the Congress by a margin of 42 votes.

First published: November 10, 2020