City Reports

Ajmer-Delhi Vande Bharat Express: Schedule, ticket price, stoppage, timings

The train will operate six days a week and travel from Ajmer to Delhi Cantt via Jaipur

April 12, 2023, 9:23 am

jaipur-delhi vande bharat train popularity

Youths thronging Jaipur railway station to take a look at Vande Bharat Express before inauguration.

JAIPUR: Prime Minister Narendra Modi is set to inaugurate Rajasthan’s first Vande Bharat train today via a virtual ceremony from New Delhi. “This marks a significant milestone in enhancing connectivity and convenience for the people of Rajasthan,” said the Prime Minister.

Railway Minister Ashwini Vaishnav will be aboard the train for its maiden journey from Jaipur, joined by GM Vijay Sharma of North-Western Railway and other public representatives at the Jaipur station at 11 am.

Ajmer-Delhi Vande Bharat Express ticket price

FromToChair Car (in INR)Executive (in INR)

Starting April 13, the general public will have access to the Vande Bharat train, which will operate six days a week and travel from Ajmer to Delhi Cantt via Jaipur. It is designed to reduce travel time, taking only five hours from Ajmer to Delhi and four hours from Jaipur to Delhi.

Captain Shashi Kiran, Chief Public Relations Officer of North Western Railway, shared the train schedule: “Train 20977 Ajmer-Delhi Cantt Vande Bharat Superfast Express will depart Ajmer at 6:20 am and arrive at Delhi Cantt at 11:35 am, with stoppages at Jaipur, Alwar, and Gurgaon (Gurugram).” The return journey, train number 20978, will leave Delhi Cantt for Ajmer at 6:40 pm, reaching Jaipur via Gurgaon and Alwar at 10:05 pm.

Ajmer-Delhi Vande Bharat Express schedule

Train Number
Departure Station
Departure Time
Arrival Station
Arrival Time
Stoppage Stations

Mon, Tue, Thu, Fri, Sat, Sun20977Ajmer6:20 amDelhi Cantt11:35 amJaipur, Alwar, Gurugram
Mon, Tue, Thu, Fri, Sat, Sun20978Delhi Cantt6:40 pmAjmer11:55 pmGurugram, Alwar, Jaipur
WedNot Operational

The Vande Bharat train will not operate on Wednesdays due to scheduled maintenance. It comprises 16 coaches, including 12 AC Chaircar, 2 AC Executive Chaircar, and 2 Driving Car coaches.

Crew and checking staff for the train will be sourced from Jaipur. Principal CCM Archana Srivastava held a final meeting with the trade union on Tuesday, accepting the demands of union representatives.

The train underwent a three-day trial in March, running between Ajmer and New Delhi at a speed of approximately 110 kilometres per hour. During the trial, employees of the Ajmer and Jaipur divisions raised concerns about staff deployment on the train, with organizations from both regions seeking employee placements from their respective areas for ticket checking and operation.

First published: April 12, 2023