City Reports

Voting for bypolls in 3 Rajasthan constituencies tomorrow

pinkcitypost author img

April 16, 2021, 3:10 pm


Representative Image

Jaipur: Three constituencies in Rajasthan – Sahara (Bhilwara), Rajsamand and Sujangarh – will go to polls on Saturday. The voting will begin at 7 am and come to an end at 6 pm. Nearly 7.43 lakh voters will exercise their franchise. Of them, about 3.64 lakh are women voters.

As the election campaigning ended at 6 pm on Thursday, the candidates started door-to-door campaigning to woo voters. On Thursday, the door-to-door campaigning was going on till late evening.

The candidates are required to follow COVID-19 guidelines. Only five people can accompany the candidates. They are not allowed to touch feet or shake hands with voters.

Sources said that the Congress has assigned at least 10 workers to each booth in the three constituencies. The workers will stay in touch with the PPC control room in Jaipur and provide real-time voting updates to the party. The workers have been asked to inform the election commission officials and the PPC office-bearer in case they notice any discrepancy in the voting process.

Heavy police force will be deployed at all the booths in the three constituencies.

While the three constituencies will go to polls, the people in other parts of the state will remain indoors as the Rajasthan government has announced standwide weekend curfew. The curfew will come into effect at 6 pm on Friday and end at 5 am on Monday.

First published: April 16, 2021