City Reports

Voting comes to end in Rajasthan; Results to be declared on Dec 3

A total turnout of 68.24% was recorded till 5 pm. Sporadic incident of clashes were also reported.

pinkcitypost author img

November 26, 2023, 10:50 am

chief minister ashok gehlot casting vote

Chief minister Ashok Gehlot after casting his vote.

JAIPUR: for the 199 assembly seats in Rajasthan concluded at 6 pm today, with a total turnout of 68.24% recorded till 5 pm, according to the Chief Electoral Officer, Rajasthan. The state witnessed a high turnout in Jaisalmer district with 76.57% voting, while Pali district recorded the lowest turnout at 60.71%.

However, the polling process was marred by clashes and disputes at several booths. In Kaman and Nagar assembly constituencies of Bharatpur district, a dispute broke out between Congress workers and a person named Latif, who entered the booth by jumping over the wall and vandalized VVPAT. The incident escalated into stone-pelting between the two groups, resulting in the polling party fleeing the scene. Voting remained closed for about 30 minutes due to the uproar.

In Sawaler village of Kaman Assembly, a clash occurred between the police and supporters of Zahida Khan, whose son Pradhan Sajid was stopped by BSF personnel at the polling booth. The situation intensified when the BSF jawan opened fire in the air, and other security personnel deployed at the spot lathicharged Sajid Khan’s supporters. Police took Sajid Khan’s driver into custody. The voting process was halted for around 45 minutes due to the disturbance.

In Sikri city assembly, BJP candidate Jawahar Singh Bedam was pelted with stones while reaching the polling booth of Mahatma Gandhi School. Those accused of pelting stones allegedly belonged to the Congress party.

Despite these incidents, the overall voting process has been peaceful, with the Election Commission ensuring strict security measures and the deployment of Central Armed Police Forces to maintain law and order. The counting of votes will take place on December 3, and the results will determine the fate of the current government and the opposition parties in the state.

First published: November 25, 2023