City Reports

Shahpura residents intensify stir against newly-formed district

Tension flares at Shahpura district. Police resort to lathi charge as dissenters oppose new demarcation.

pinkcitypost author img

August 25, 2023, 8:00 pm

mahesh joshi shahpura district inauguration

Minister Mahesh Joshi at Shahpura district inauguration ceremony.

JAIPUR: The residents of Bhilwara district in Shahpura have intensified their protest against the area being designated as a new district. Their main protest is against the expulsion of mining areas from the newly-formed district.

The inauguration ceremony was marred by intense opposition from the residents. The situation escalated to the point where the police had to resort to lathi charge to control the crowd, resulting in injuries to 12 individuals.

The residents are raising objections against the inclusion of Hurda and Gulabpura regions within Bhilwara, at the expense of Shahpura’s territory. Prior to the event, the Shahpura Sangharsh Samiti and various civic organizations gathered outside the Government College, the venue of the inauguration program, to peacefully voice their dissent.

The commotion escalated when Minister Mahesh Joshi arrived, only to be met with black flags from the protesters. As tensions grew around noon, hundreds attempted to breach the college premises, prompting the Rapid Action Force (RAC) to employ lathi charges. It caused the protestors to indulge in stone-pelting. Over 12 people sustained injuries and were referred to Bhilwara for preliminary treatment.

Chief Minister Ashok Gehlot virtually participated in the inauguration of new districts from the Birla Auditorium, preceded by rituals and worship. The expansion has increased the number of districts from the previous 33 to 50, with new districts like Anupgarh, Balotra, Beawar, and others.

The government has appointed IAS and IPS officers as Officer on Special Duty (OSD) for the new districts, effectively designating them as Collectors and Superintendents of Police.

The headquarters of Jaipur and Jaipur Rural districts will both remain in Jaipur, while Jodhpur and Jodhpur Rural districts will be headquartered in Jodhpur. Other new districts, including Didwana-Kuchaman and Kotputli-Behror, will also have designated headquarters.

First published: August 8, 2023