City Reports

RCA election 2019 result: All you need to know

October 5, 2019, 7:19 am

vaibhav gehlot

Vaibhav Gehlot with CP Joshi

Jaipur: Vaibhav Gehlot – son of chief minister Ashok Gehlot – was elected Rajasthan Cricket Association (RCA) president. The RCA election results were announced on Friday. He got 26 votes, while his opponent Ramprakash Choudhary got six votes. All the candidates from CP Joshi faction won in the election.

Amin Pathan won for the post of vice secretary with 22 votes. His opponent Ashvarya Katoch got nine votes. For the post of secretary, Mahendra Sharma got 21 votes, while his opponent Somendra Tiwari got nine votes. Krishna Kumar Nimawat was elected treasurer. His got 21 votes, while his opponent Anant Vyas got 10 votes. Mahendra Nahar was elected joint secretary. He got nine votes. His opponent Brijkishore got 10 votes. Devaram Choudhary was elected executive member with 22  votes. Ramesh Gupta got eight votes.

Somentra Tiwari and Ramprakash Choudhary alleged that the voters were threatened. They said that they would move court against the results. 30 district cricket associations voted in the elections. Gagan Khera who was representing players didn’t vote. So 31 votes were cast.

The victory has paved the way for Vaibhav Gehlot to gain entry into BCCI. Vaibhav was first appointed treasurer of Rajsamand district cricket association. Agriculture minister Lalchand Kataria tried to reach a consensus with Rameshwar Dudi, but when he failed he negotiated with all the district associations.

First published: October 5, 2019