City Reports

RBSE students to study NCERT books: Rajasthan education minister

pinkcitypost author img

September 11, 2019, 4:48 pm

govind singh dotasara

Govind Singh Dotasara

Jaipur: In a major announcement, Rajasthan education minister Govind Singh Dotasara told media persons that the student of Rajasthan Board of Secondary Education (RBSE) will study the NCERT syllabus from Class 6 to Class 12.

This decision has been taken to dissuade political parties from making changes to the syllabus based on their ideology when they come to power in the state. He also said that the recommendations from scholars were taken into account when the state government made this decision.

Dotasara told media persons that any political party which comes to power in the future would not be able to make any changes to the syllabus. The students studying in schools affiliated with Rajasthan Board of Secondary Education (RBSE) will now study NCERT syllabus and books, he told media persons on Wednesday.

“The students from Class 6 to Class 12 will study the NCERT syllabus. While we are planning to introduce the changes in the syllabus for students of Class 6, 7, 8, 9, and 11 from 2020-21 academic year, the change will be implemented for students of Class 10 and Class 12 from 2021-22 academic year,” he said.

“Chief minister Ashok Gehlot made it clear that the students should not fall victim to party ideologies. It’s not in their best interest,” Dotasara added.

The BJP and the Congress have been at loggerheads over the changes in syllabus, particularly in history books with the change of guard.  

First published: September 11, 2019