City Reports

Rajya Sabha elections in Rajasthan: BJP and Congress candidates file nomination

March 13, 2020, 4:29 pm

rajya sabha nomination

BJP and Congress candidates for Rajya Sabha elections file nomination.

Jaipur: The BJP has fielded Rajendra Gehlot and Onkar Singh Lakhawat from Rajasthan for Rajya Sabha elections. KC Venugopal and Neeraj Dangi will be the Congress candidates from Rajasthan. All the four candidates filed their nominations on Friday. The last-minute entry of Onkar Singh from the state has made the fight interesting. The voting for three Rajya Sabha seats from Rajasthan will take place on March 25.

Rajasthan chief minister Ashok Gehlot, Congress state in-charge Avinash Pandey, several ministers and MLAs were present when Dangi and Venugopal filed their nominations. Onkar Singh and Rajendra Gehlot were accompanied by Rajasthan BJP president Satish Poonia and several legislators from the party.

The BJP has declared the candidacy of Rajendra Gehlot on Wednesday. The Congress declared its candidates late on Thursday. The last minute announcement of Onkar Singh left many surprised.

Dangi is considered close to Ashok Gehlotl however, there was no consensus in the party over his candidacy. An OBC candidate, Dangi has fought assembly elections from Reodar in Sirohi thrice, but he faced defeat every time.

Sources said that Onkar Sigh has been fielded as a dummy candidate. The last date for withdrawal of nominations is March 18. If he didn’t withdraw, the voting will take place. Earlier, the victory of two candidates from the Congress and one from the BJP was considered certain.

First published: March 13, 2020