City Reports

Rajasthan High Court Bar Association election results 2021: Bhuvnesh Sharma elected president

pinkcitypost author img

February 27, 2021, 4:37 pm

rajasthan high court election result

Candidates who won in Rajasthan high court bar association elections 2021

Jaipur: The results of Rajasthan High Court Bar Association Jaipur elections were announced on Saturday. Bhuvnesh Sharma was elected president. He defeated Mahendra Shandilya by 55 votes.

While Bhuvnesh Sharma received 1619 votes, Shandilya received 1564 votes. Giriraj Prasad Sharma was elected general secretary. He defeated his nearest rival Sanjay Khedar. Girraj Sharma secured 1553 votes, while Khedar received 1238 votes.

Nidhi Khandelwal and Bharat Yadav were elected for the two posts of vice president, Vivek Sharma for the post of joint secretary, and Vivek Joshi treasurer.

As soon as the results came out, the supporters of the elected lawyers started celebrating in high court premises. They offered garlands to the newly elected office bearers of the bar association. Some layer played drums. Police security was stepped up on the premises.

The voting was held on Friday. In Jaipur, the voting percentage was 78.01%. The total number of votes was 5222. Of them, 4017 voters exercised their franchise. There were 56 candidates in the fray for various posts including President, General Secretary, and eight executive committee members. Prahlad Sharma, Mahendra Shandilya, Bhuvnesh Sharma, Sanjay Varma, and Babulal Saini are fighting for the post of president.

First published: February 27, 2021