City Reports

Rajasthan: Congress likely to release list of 15 candidates after Mar 26 for Lok Sabha elections 2019

The party may field 12 former and sitting MP who lost in the Lok Sabha elections 2014.

pinkcitypost author img

March 23, 2019, 11:12 am

Congress Rahul gandhi ashok gehlot sachin pilot kisaan rally in jaipur

Jaipur: The Congress party has finalized the candidates for 15 Lok Sabha constituencies in Rajasthan . Of them, the party is likely to field former parliamentarians and union ministers.

A meeting of Congress Screening Committee and Central Election Committee was held in New Delhi on Friday which continued till late night.

According to the sources, the party leaders along with election committee officials have decided on 15 names for Rajasthan.

It is believed that the announcement of the names could be made after March 26. Sources said the party may field 12 former and sitting MP who lost in the Lok Sabha elections 2014.

Congress President Rahul Gandhi will address a public meeting at Bundi and Sriganganagar on March 26.

The Congress high command is mulling over a few names including Vaibhav Gehlot – Son of Ashok Gehlot from Jodhpur or Jalore-Sirohi seat, Urmila Jain –wife of Mines minister Pramod Jain Bhaya from Baran-Jhalawar seat and Health Minister Raghu Sharma for Ajmer seat.

New faces can be fielded for some Lok Sabha constituencies of the state including Dosa, Barmer, Karauli-Dholpur, Rajsamand, Ajmer, Bhilwara, and Jodhpur.

the constituencies where the former candidates are likely to be fielded inlcud Alwar, Nagaur, Jaipur Rural, Jaipur City, Tonk Sawai Madhopur, Sikar, Dungarpur-Banswara, and Pali.

The Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP) released its first list of candidates for upcoming Lok Sabha elections 2019 on Thursday and finalized the names of 16 candidates from Rajasthan. There are 25 Lok Sabha constituencies in the state. The party repeated 14 sitting MP’s and included four union ministers in the first list. Other names will be announced soon, said party officials.

The dates for upcoming Lok Sabha Elections were announced by Election Commission of India. Polling in Rajasthan on 25 seats will be held on April 29 (Phase 4) and May 6 (Phase 5). The results will be announced on May 23.

Thirteen constituencies including Tonk-Sawai Madhopur, Ajmer, Pali, Jodhpur, Barmer, Jalore, Udaipur, Banswara, Chittorgarh, Rajsamand, Bhilwara, Kota, and Jhalawar-Baran will go to poll on April 26.

The election for 12 Lok Sabha constituencies including Ganganagar, Bikaner, Jhunjhunu, Sikar, Jaipur Rural, Jaipur, Alwar, Bharatpur, Karauli-Dholpur, Dausa, and Nagaur will take place on May 6.

First published: March 23, 2019