City Reports

Rajasthan by-election results 2021: Congress wins in Sujangarh, Sahada; Deepti Maheshwari of BJP wins in Rajsamand

pinkcitypost author img

May 2, 2021, 4:23 pm

Representative Image

Jaipur: Byelection results for Sujangarh, Sahada and Rajsamand constituencies of Rajasthan have come out. While the Congress candidates emerged victorious in Sahada and Sujangarh constituencies, the BJP grabbed the Rajsamand seat.

The counting of votes began in the three constituencies at 8 am on Sunday. Chief minister Ashok Gehlot advised the winning candidates and their supporters to refrain from public celebrations that cause gatherings keeping in view the current Covid-19 situation.

Deepti Maheshwari of the BJP won by a margin of 5165 votes after 25 rounds of counting. She received 74131 votes, while her close contender Tansukh Bohra of the Congress received 68966 votes.

In Sahada, the Congress won by a much bigger margin. Gayatri Devi of the Congress defeated Dr Ratan Lal Jat by a margin of 42099 votes. Gayatri Devi received 81,151 votes, while Dr Ratan Lal received 39,052 votes. RLP candidate Badrilal Jat secured the third position with 12,175 votes.

In Sujangarh, Congress candidate Manoj Meghwal is set to win after 28 rounds of counting. In the 28th round, the Congress was ahead of the BJP by a margin of 34,501 votes. Meghwal had tested positive for Covid-19 recently. He is in home isolation.

First published: May 2, 2021