City Reports

Rajasthan elections 2018 results live news & updates: Congress MLA meet tomorrow to decide on new chief minister

The PinkCity Post brings you live updates and latest news for the results. Keep visiting this page for minute-to-minute updates.

pinkcitypost author img

December 11, 2018, 6:06 pm

The counting of votes for the Rajasthan assembly election 2018 has begun. People, political parties and politicians are eagerly waiting for the results. The PinkCity Post brings you live updates and latest news for the results. Keep visiting this page for minute-to-minute updates.

Who will be the chief minister – Ashok Gehlot or Sachin Pilot?

Dec 11, 2018
6.00 PM (IST)
Congress general secretary incharge of Rajasthan Avinash Pande told media persons in a press conference that the Congress will hold a meeting of MLAs. He said he and K. C. Venugopal will discuss with MLAs about the likely candidate for the chief ministerial post. He said that the meeting will take place at PCC from 11 am on Wednesday. The two leaders will prepare a report and sent it to the party high command in Delhi with their opinion. “Chief minister will be appointed with a mutual consent,” Pande said.
Both Ashok Gehlot and Sachin Pilot are contenders for the top post. Speculations are doing the rounds in the state as to who will become the chief minister of Rajasthan.
The Congress had won 92 seats till the reports last came in. The party is likely to win over 100 seats.

Congress wins 86 seats, BJP lags behind

Dec 11, 2018
5.35 PM (IST)
The Congress is set to form government in Rajasthan as it has already won 86 seats. Going by the trends, the victory mark may go beyond 100. If it crosses this mark, the party will form the government with a majority. BJP has so far won 62 seats. Independents and candidates of other parties have won 17 seats which has come as a surprise to many. Hanuman Beniwal won Khinwsar seat. The Congress senior leaders held a meeting to discuss their strategy in case the party falls short of majority.

Congress to win with a clear majority, says Sachin Pilot

Dec 11, 2018
2.30 PM (IST)
Former chief minister Ashok Gehlot has won in Sardarpura assembly constituency in Jodhpur. PCC chief Sachin Pilot told media persons that the Congress would form the government with a clear majority, but they would still take independents into the party’s fold after the results. He said the majority of the independents are from Congress background. Pilot left for Tonk after he was declared a winner, defeating Yunus Khan of the BJP.

Congress is leading in 103 assembly constituencies

Dec 11, 2018
2.00 PM (IST)
Two bigwigs of Rajasthan politics Vasundhara Raje and Sachin Pilot won in their respectively assembly constituencies. While outgoing chief minister Vasundhara Raje defeated Manvendra Singh of Congress, PCC chief Sachin Pilot defeated Yunus Khan. The Congress has won 21 seats, while the BJP has won 11 seats. The Congress is leading in 103 constituencies and may form the government with majority. The BJP is lagging behind, but is leading in 72 constituencies. As many as 21 independents and candidates of other parties are leading. Two of them have already won. One BSP candidate has also won.

Public mandate goes to Congress: Ashok Gehlot

Dec 11, 2018
12.15 PM (IST)
In a press conference, former chief minister and senior Congress leader Ashok Gehlot said that the Congress will form the government in Rajasthan. He said that the mandate clearly shows this. The Congress is leading in 100 constituencies, while the BJP is leading in 82.

BJP lags behind in Rajasthan

Dec 11, 2018
10.50 AM (IST)
The Congress is leading in 103 constituencies in the state, while the BJP is ahead in 82 constituencies. BSP is leading in three seats while others are ahead in 11 constituencies.

Congress maintains lead

Dec 11, 2018
10.10 AM (IST)
The Congress is leading in 100 seats, while the BJP in 80 seats. 15 independents and candidates from other parties are also leading, according to early trends.

CM Raje leads by 4055 votes

Dec 11, 2018
9:45 AM (IST)
CM Vasundhara Raje leading by 4055 votes in Jhalrapatan and Congress’ Ashok Gehlot leading by 63398 votes in Sardarpura. The second counting round of Churu seat has been completed. BJP candidate Rajendra Rathore is leading by 400 votes.

Sachin pilot leads by 2001 votes

Dec 11, 2018
9:40 AM (IST)
PCC chief Sachin pilot is leading by a margin of 2001 votes in Tonk constituency. Supporters have started gathering outside Pilot’s residence to celebrate. Pilot is likely to give his reaction at 11:00 am

BJP leading in 74 seats, Congress in 88

Dec 11, 2018
9:25 AM (IST)
Jaipur: The BJP is fast catching up with Congress as the saffron party is leading in 74 seats out of 199 constituencies whereas Congress is leading in 88.

Hemant Bhati leads in Ajmer South

Dec 11, 2018
8:45 AM (IST)
Hemant Bhati of Congress leading ahead of BJP candidate Anita Bhandel Of Ajmer South constituency.

Congress takes the lead in initial trends

Dec 11, 2018
8.39 AM (IST)
The Congress is leading in 45 assembly constituency seats. The initial trends have caused the Congress workers to rejoice. The BJP is leading on over 25 seats.

CM Raje leads in Jhalarapatan

Dec 11, 2018
8:35 AM (IST)
CM Vasundhara Raje is leading in Jhalarapatan agaist Congress candidate Manvendra Singh

Congress races ahead of BJP in initial trends

Dec 11, 2018
8.16 AM (IST)
According to initial trends, the Congress is racing ahead on 21 assembly seats, while BJP is ahead on 13 seats.

Sachin Pilot ahead in Tonk, Ashok Gehlot in Sardarpura

Dec 11, 2018
8.15AM (IST)
All the eyes are on two constituencies of the state. Sachin Pilot is fighting the election from Tonk constituency and Ashok Gehlot from Sardarpura. According to initial trends, both are racing ahead.

Counting of votes begin in Rajasthan

Dec 11, 2018
8.15AM (IST)
The counting of votes has begun. The EVMs have been taken to counting centers under heavy security arrangements. Massive security arrangements have been made at all the counting centers. First the votes received through mail are being counted. The counting has begun on Commerce College and Rajasthan University premises.

First published: December 11, 2018