City Reports

Raj student union elections 2019: Setback for Congress-backed NSUI

August 29, 2019, 12:22 pm

pooja verma after victory

RU president Pooja Verma after victory in student union elections.

Jaipur: The Congress-backed NSUI received a major setback in the Rajasthan student union elections 2019 as it couldn’t win the president post in any university of the state. The independent candidates won the post of president in four universities including Rajasthan University in Jaipur, Jai Narayan Vyas University of Jodhpur and Maharaja Gangasingh University of Bikaner. The presidential post was won by ABVP in five universities.

In Rajasthan University, NSUI rebel Pooja Verma defeated ABVP candidate Uttam Choudhary. Pooja got 3889 votes, while Uttam 3214 votes. The ABVP candidate was on the third position. It is for the fourth year in a row that an independent candidate has grabbed the post of president in Rajasthan University.

An impendent candidate  was elected president for the firest time in Jai Narayan Vyas University in Jodhpur. Ravindra Singh Bhati defeated Hanuman Tarad of NSUI by a margin of 1294 votes.

Nikhilraj Jat of ABVP was elected president in Mohanlal Sukhadia University in Udaipur.

Here are the results for the post of president in other universities:

  • Pratap Agriculture and Technology University – Pawan Jat of ABVP
  • Maharaja Gangasingh University – Shravan Jakhar (independent)
  • Maharshi Dayanand Saraswati University, Ajmer – Rameshwar Chhaba of ABVP
  • Sanskrit University – Jaipur: Vijay Sharma of ABVP

The election didn’t take place in Kota University due to complaints of irregularities in the admission.

First published: August 29, 2019