Lok Sabha election 2019: Diya Kumari likely to contest from Rajsamand!

April 3, 2019, 1:12 pm

Diya kumari

Diya Kumari

Jaipur:  The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has still not announced the candidates for six constituencies of Rajasthan for the upcoming Lok Sabha elections. The nomination process for the elections began in the state for the first phase on Tuesday.

There were reports that Jaipur’s ex-royal princess and former BJP MLA of Sawaimadhopur Diya Kumari will likely fight the Lok Sabha polls from Rajsamand seat. The party has finalized her name, but the official announcement was yet to be made.

Diya Kumari didn’t get a ticket for her preferred choice of seats that included Jaipur or Tonk-Sawaimadhopur. She didn’t get the ticket in the assembly elections 2018 from Sawaimadhopur constituency.

Diya Kumari and husband Narendra Singh got divorced earlier in January nearly 21 years after they tied the knot following a much-publicized courtship.

A local court in January 2019 granted the divorce to Diya Kumari and Narendra Singh who were reportedly living separated for the past one and a half years. Diya declined to speak up for the reasons for the divorce and said that it is a personal matter and she will not like to talk about it.

Diya Kumari married Narendra Singh in August 1997 after a courtship. The community opposed their plans for marriage as both were from the same Gotra. Despite the opposition and the image of the royal family at the stack, the couple held their ground and tied the knot.

Diya Kumari is the daughter of former Maharaja of Jaipur Bhawani Singh and Maharani Padmini Devi. She pursued education in Jaipur, Delhi and London.

The couple has three children – Sawai Padmanabh Singh, Lakshya Raj Singh and Gauravi Kumari. Born on July 2, 1998, Padmanabh was coroneted and became Maharaja (king) of Jaipur in 2011. He is the youngest ever player to represent India in a World Cup match.

She joined BJP in September 2013 in the presence of then chief minister of Gujrat Narendra Modi and senior leaders including Rajnath Singh and Vasundhara Raje.

The Congress has announced the complete list of candidates on 25 seats for Lok Sabha polls.

The dates for upcoming Lok Sabha Elections were announced by Election Commission of India. Polling in Rajasthan on 25 seats will be held on April 29 (Phase 4) and May 6 (Phase 5). The results will be announced on May 23.

First published: April 3, 2019