Culture & Events

Jaipur Polo Season to begin from January 1

Many foreign players from Argentina and England will also participate in the season.

pinkcitypost author img

December 30, 2017, 10:05 pm

jaipur polo

Jaipur Polo. Representative image.

Jaipur: The winter Jaipur polo season will begin from January 1. With the leading players of the game participating in the season – some exciting polo is in the offing.

Many foreign players from Argentina and England including Manuel Fernandes Llorente(+6) and Pablo Jauretche (+7) from Argentina,  Mathew Perry (+6) from England will participate in the game.

The season will begin with an Exhibition Polo Match on December 31. It will be followed by the Kota Cup, which will be played from January 1 to January 7. Royal Gems & Arts SMS Gold Vase Cup which will be played from January 8 to January 14.

The Rajmata Gayatri Devi Memorial Cup (10 goals) will be played from January 15 to January 21, whereas HH Maharaja Sawai Bhawani Singh Cup (12 goals) will be played from January 22 to January 28.

For the first time it will be 12-goal tournament. Earlier, it used to be a 10-goal tournament. The high-handicap Vodafone Sirmour Cup (14 goals) will take place from January 29 to February 4.

Similarly, on January 13 there will be Maharaj Prithi Singh Baria Cup. This will be followed by 1135 AD exhibition polo match on January 20  and Raghu Sinha Mala Mathur Memorial Cup on February 3. The season will end with Vodafone Sirmour Cup (14 Goals).

Most of the leading Indian players of the game will participate in the Jaipur Polo Season. They include Syed Shamsheer Ali (+6); Simran Shergill (+6) Syed Basir Ali, Dhruvpal Godara, , Sameer Suhag, Abhimanyu Pathak, Col Ravi Rathore  (+5 each), Angad Kalan, Gaurav Shahgal, Vishal Singh (+4 each);  Syed Hamza Ali, Uday Kalaan,  Lokendra Singh,   (+3 each); HH Maharaja Sawai Padmanabh Singhji of Jaipur, Ransher Singh Rathore, Bhawani Kalvi, Vishal Nihalani and Tarun Bilwal, Kuldeep Singh Rathore  (+2 each); and Maharaj Narendra Singh is +0 handicap.

Some officers from the 61 cavalry and other units of Army will also participate in the polo tournament.


First published: December 30, 2017