City Reports

Aslam Farooqi of Congress elected deputy mayor of Jaipur Heritage; BJP’s Punit wins Jaipur Greater

pinkcitypost author img

November 12, 2020, 10:43 am

deputy mayor jaipur heritage

Jaipur heritage deputy mayor elections.

Jaipur: Aslam Farooqi who won from Ward – 19 on a Congress seat has been elected deputy mayor of Jaipur Heritage Municipal Corporation. As expected, the BJP grabbed the post of deputy mayor in Jaipur Greater Municipal Corporation. The party’s candidate Punit Karnawat who was elected from Ward 128 has become deputy mayor of Jaipur Greater.

While Farooqi defeated BJP’s Mahendra Dalet by a margin of 12 votes, the Congress didn’t field its candidate in Jaipur Greater. The Congress had lost the mayor seat by a huge margin in Jaipur Heritage, so decided not to field a candidate. Farooqi got 56 votes, while his opponent got 44 votes

The election results for the post of deputy mayors were as expected in all municipal corporations in Jaipur, Kota and Jodhpur. There were no surprises.

In Kota South, Pawan Meena of the Congress was elected deputy mayor. Sonu Qureshi was declared winner in Kota North. He defeated the BJP candidate – Gyanendra Singh by a margin of 41 votes.

In Jodhpur North, BJP candidate Suresh Joshi was elected unopposed. In Jodhpur South, Kishanlal Laddha of the BJP defeated Ganpat Singh Chouhan of the Congress by a margin of 16 votes. While Laddha received 48 votes, Chouhan received 32 votes.

First published: November 12, 2020