City Reports

ABVP announces list of candidates for Rajasthan University student elections

pinkcitypost author img

February 1, 2018, 3:45 pm

abvp candiates for rajasthan university elections

ABVP fields Sanjay Machedi for the post of president in RU polls. Panel of candidates announced.

Jaipur: ABVP on Monday announced the panel of candidates who will fight for the top posts in Rajasthan University (RU) student elections. Sanjay Machedi will fight for the post of the president, while Ritu Choudhary has been fielded for the post of vice president.

Rakesh Yadav has been chosen to fight for general secretary and Manish Meena will run for the post of joint secretary.

Sanjay Machedi has been the president of Maharaja College student union. A resident of Malpura  Machedi near Amber in Jaipur, Sanjay has been active in student politics for the past few years.

Caste equations have apparently played a role in selection of candidates. Students from Meena and Jat community have dominance.

The polling is scheduled to take place on August 28.

Rajasthan university RU student election 2017 dates

Rajasthan University (RU) election 2017 dates have been announced.

While Rajasthan University administration is predicting the biggest ever participation of student voters in the election, more than half of them have yet not been provided student ID cards. Rajasthan University has nearly 26000 students. As per the norms, students who don’t have ID cards won’t be able to cast votes.

The entire election process will be completed within eight days. The decision to conduct elections in the minimum possible time was taken to reduce the chances of ruckus created by students during elections and to ensure that classes are not affected.

The voter list will be published on August 21. Objections on the voter list will be accepted till August 22. The final voter list will come out on the same day.

Student leaders will be able to file nominations by 3 pm on August 23. The nomination papers will be checked and objections on them will be received till 5 pm.

The final list of candidates will come out on August 24.

Nominations could be withdrawn by 2 pm on August 24. The final list of candidates fighting the election will come out by 5 pm on August 24.

The voting will take place from 8 am to 1 pm on August 28.

The counting of votes and results will be announced from 2 pm on August 28.

RU student elections: Outsiders and vehicles with posters, banners banned

First published: August 21, 2017